Agent Monday: Starting your Pitch

Happy spring and happy Agent Monday, everyone! Since spring is also the start of conference season, I thought I’d reblog an “evergreen” post I did about crafting a sharp pitch…. And I’ll be taking author pitches in Philadelphia April 9th – maybe you can practice some of these mad pitch skills on me! For more info on that, visit http://philadelphiawritingworkshop.com/

Marie Lamba, author

If you are on the hunt for a literary agent, then you are making your pitch, whether face to face at a conference, or in a query letter.  Sure, the “live pitch” and the pitch within a query are different in some ways, but they both have the same intentions: to pique the interest of an agent. One thing you don’t want to do is to confuse the agent, or leave her with fundamental questions that will distract her from hearing your story’s plot.

In a live pitch, one of the most disorienting things for me as an agent is when the writer does not tell me the genre of the book right away. While the writer launches into his story and characters, I find myself trying to figure out what, exactly, I’m listening to.  Picture a thought bubble over my head filled with the following: “Wait, is this a…

View original post 680 more words

Leave a Reply

