Agent Monday: Ask Me Now!

Young Boy at School Raising His Hand to Answer in ClassHappy Agent Monday, everyone! Busy, busy, busy here. I’ve got lots of stuff to read, emails to answer, details to attend to, etc. I hate to skip an Agent Monday post, but sometimes I do. And usually it’s because I don’t have a topic that’s jumped out at me as a “must-do” for this site. I’ve covered a lot of things over the past few years – queries, conferences, etiquette, market tips, and so on. But I’m sure there are some subjects or details I haven’t touched on that YOU would like to know more about.

So here’s your chance to ask. Please leave a comment with a topic you’d like to have me do an Agent Monday post about in the near future, something you don’t think I’ve covered before.

Send those burning questions my way. And ask your fellow writers to chime in, too. I can’t promise I’ll cover them all, but I do promise to consider your suggestions.

Thanks so much for your input!

 

*Marie is an Associate Agent at The Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency in New York City. To keep up with all her Agent Monday posts, subscribe to her site by clicking on the Follow link located on her page on the upper left margin.

15 thoughts on “Agent Monday: Ask Me Now!

  1. Talking about pictures books, and congratulations for you being now a picture book author, how marketable is a creative nonfiction picture book set in Mexico? Thanks and best wishes.

  2. How much character and setting description is too much, and how little is too little, by age category? Can it even be defined that way?

    Question background: I’m editing my MG modern fantasy right now. I read a lot of MG, and the level of description is all over the place, book to book.

    Thanks!

  3. Have you ever rejected a manuscript because you were not “connecting” to the material, narrative arc, and/or the main character? What did that mean to you personally?

  4. Does a historical setting automatically categorize a manuscript as being historical fiction? Is it acceptable to have a historical setting even if that history is not integral to the plot?

  5. Though posts about craft and the market are always helpful, I am very curious about how an agent sells books.

    Agent’s POV
    1. how you package pieces to sell to an editor
    2. how you analyze an editor’s preferences (how know what ms. will interest which editor)
    3. how you analyze a publisher’s preferences
    4. how you handle rejection as an agent (you loved a manuscript, but the editors didn’t)
    5. the houses you work with often, and why

    And of course, I wonder what you see in your inbox right now (and what you want to see).

    Congrats on your book deal, and thank you so much for taking our questions!

  6. Is it acceptable to take a current best selling picture book(k-3) and re-spin for YA/adult using very different characters and scenario?

Leave a Reply

