Review of “Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls” by Meg Cabot

So begins the reviews of books being read over at the Lamba house. We’ve been spoiled with a huge stack of ARC’s (Advanced Reader Copies) we snagged from the American Librarian Association’s midwinter conference in Philly this month.  I’ve already ripped through many of these, and sadly not all were worth my time. Some had big name authors but terrible writing. Some had hideous covers and the characters acted more like third graders than kids in high school. One I was particularly disappointed with had a really catchy cover and a clever idea, but the book was amazingly dull. But I don’t want to spend my time writing about these. Instead I am telling you what I see as the most promising, and definitely worth your time.

My review of “Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls: Moving Day” by Meg Cabot (March 2008, ages 8-12, 240 pages, $15.99):

Okay, Meg Cabot doesn’t exactly need any help from me, what with all her success from her Princess Diaries dynasty, but I have to say I really enjoyed this book, even though it isn’t a YA but a middle reader novel. In a way it’s a typical tale: little girl has to move, doesn’t want to, tries to ambush things, ends up happy after all. BUT Meg creates such a great character in Allie, that you forget the familiar plot and get lost in the fun and the honesty of this age group. Who wouldn’t love a kid that schemes to rescue the turtle from the decorative pond at Lung Chung Chinese Restaurant before someone orders the turtle soup?

This is really funny and endearing stuff, and I have to admit it reminds me of the prickly, funky little kid I used to be. So I recommend this for any of the 7-11 year olds in your life. A quick, funny and satisfying read.

2 thoughts on “Review of “Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls” by Meg Cabot

  1. I think that your review to this book is 100% true! At first I was a little dissatisfied with the plot, because it was so basic, but Allie and her life, family and friends are so realistic and relatable that its hard to resist loving this book! I love your review and I think you did a great job writing it!

Leave a Reply

