Slice of Life Friday: Lentil Storm Soup

Storms coming, Harry! According to alarmist forecasters, it’s a FRANKENSTORM. Obviously there is only one logical thing to do.  No, it’s not run out to buy bread and milk.  It’s to make soup. Obvs.

Soup has always been a “thing” for me. When I was little, it was hands down my favorite food (trailed not too distantly by V-8).  In fact, I used to think the word “starving” came from Chicken and Stars soup, because when I was hungry, that’s what I wanted, and when someone said they were starving, those noodly stars danced before my eyes.

ANYWAYS, I’d thought I’d offer up the recipe for my own lentil soup…just in case you felt like adding the ingredients to your cart along with all that bread and milk… This is an Italian version of the soup devised long before I met my Indian husband and before I knew that ginger was something that could be found in foods other than ginger ale or ginger snap cookies…so don’t expect any East Asian flavors.

Marie’s Lentil “Storm” Soup

Ingredients:

One large can of low fat chicken broth (you can use veg. broth if you want to be vegetarian about it)
One cup of lentils
A few basil leaves
A chopped tomato (can used canned)
Two onions, chopped
A few cloves of garlic, chopped
3-4 carrots peeled and sliced into half-inch slices
3-4 celery stalks sliced into half-inch bits
A generous splash of wine (like a half-cup or so)
Salt and pepper to taste (add this after it’s all cooked so you get the full flavors before adding)

Take all of these things, put them into a soup pot, bring it to a slow boil then lower heat, cover and simmer it until the lentils are soft and blending into the broth.  Could take a while, depending on the lentils. Stir occasionally. Be patient.

Serve topped with some grated cheese and accompanied with hot bread, salad and a glass of wine, and you’re good to go!

Salute!

4 thoughts on “Slice of Life Friday: Lentil Storm Soup

Leave a Reply

